
LAST UPDATE: 4 October 2025
WARNING: QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS IN THIS PAGE REFER TO PLAYTEST RULES. WITH THE RELEASE OF FULL RULES THESE MAY NO LONGER BE VALID. CLICK HERE FOR THE LIVE VERSION
This page collects a series of frequent rules questions and answers from the Trench Crusade Discord Server. Answers marked by a (C) have been confirmed by members of the development team themselves, while those marked by a (F) are included in official FAQ documents. The remaining are based on community consensus and experience.
Note: Q&A given here refer to the following published documents. Subsequent versions of the rules might render these answers obsolete.
- Playtest Rulebook v1.6.3 (24 March 2025)
- Playtest Campaign Rules v1.6.3 (18 April 2025)
- Playtest Campaign Rules Changelog v1.6.4 (1 May 2025)
- Playtest Mercenaries Rules v.1.4.2 (30 September 2024)
Also please be aware that some of the points discussed here might refer to rules or interpretations that are not always evident according to “rules-as-written”. This is due to the playtest nature of the rulebook so far, so it’s not uncommon for the author to give quick guidelines and interpretations on how something should be played without actually making any change to the published material.

Download a pdf version here
Index
- 1. General Rules
- 2. Movement
- 3. Ranged Attacks <-NEW Q&A!
- 4. Melee Attacks
- 5. Injuries and Blood Markers
- 6. Weapons, Armour and Equipment
- 7. Keywords
- 8. Heretic Legion
- 9. Trench Pilgrims
- 10. The Iron Sultanate <-NEW Q&A!
- 11. The Principality of New Antioch
- 12. The Cult of the Black Grail
- 13. The Court of the Seven-Headed Serpent
- 14. Allies and Mercenaries
- 15. Scenarios
- 16. Campaign Rules General <-NEW Q&A!
- 17. Campaign Rules – Traumas & Scars
- 18. Campaign Rules – Skills
- 19. Campaign Rules – Exploration & Items <-NEW Q&A!
- 20. Miscellanea
- 21. Suspected Typos
1. General Rules
Q1.1: When a roll is modified using Blood/Blessing/Infection Markers, are those markers discarded?
A1.1(C): Yes, each time one or more Markers are used, remove that number of markers from the model.
Q1.2: When both players want to modify the same roll using Blood and Blessing Markers, who gets to apply their modifier first?
A1.2(C): The opponent decides whether to apply Blood Markers to the roll first, then the player controlling the model has the opportunity to apply any Blessing Markers.
Q1.3: When a model uses a weapon with the Keyword RISKY, do I need to make a RISKY ACTION roll and then roll to hit?
A1.3: No, in that situation the roll to hit itself is considered RISKY. You roll to hit as normal and if you miss, the model’s activation ends.
Q1.4: For the purpose of interacting with rules that require a model having a certain base size (such as the Sin Eater’s Devour the Guilty ability), how are models on an oval base considered?
A1.4(C): Consider the model as being on a base corresponding to the larger size. For example a Lion of Jabir (60mm x 30mm oval base) would be considered on a 60 mm base.
Q1.5: When range is measured, does the model’s whole base need to be within the distance for the model to count as “in range”?
A1.5: No, unless a rule specifies that a model must be “wholly/fully within” a certain range, if any part of the base/model is in range, the model is.
Q1.6: If both warbands need to roll for morale and they have the same number of models, who rolls first?
A1.6 (F): Roll off to see who goes first.
Q1.7: If an effect (e.g. Maddening Buzz or the warband being Shaken) turns all ACTIONS a model takes into RISKY ACTIONS, do I need to roll to see if the model makes a Move ACTION?
A1.7(C): No, any ACTION that automatically succeeds without rolling the dice, such as a Standard Move, Charge or Retreat, is not affected.
Q1.8: Is the rule that prevents a model to take the same ACTION multiple times during an activation restricted to ACTIONS taken during that model’s activation? For example, the Black Grail Shield can be used multiple times. Is this a general rule that can be extended to all reaction-type ACTIONS?
A1.8(F): Yes, since the rule of the Black Grail Shield rules specifies this and it is not taken during the model’s Activation.
Q1.9: When an ability or effect requires a model to “take an ACTION”, does it mean perform one of the four basic ACTIONS (Move, Ranged Attack, Melee Attack, Dash) or is it just rolling the dice on the Action Success Table?
A1.9(F): When a type of ACTION is not specified (e.g. “the model takes a Melee Attack ACTION”), then the phrase “take an ACTION” means “roll on the Action Success Table”. What happens in case of a success or failure is described in the text of the effect that requires the model to take an ACTION.
2. Movement
Q2.1: Can a model move and charge in the same round?
A2.1: No, a model can only choose one option from the Move ACTION during each activation, so it can either make a Standard Move, Retreat or Charge. The only way a model can, usually, move twice in the same activation is by performing a Move ACTION and a Dash ACTION (in any order).
Q2.2: Can a model that starts its activation in Melee charge another enemy, as long as it remains within 1” of any model it was in melee with at the start of the activation?
A2.2(C): No, a model that starts its activation in Melee can only Retreat or make a Standard Move, as long as it ends this Standard Move in Melee with all model it was within 1” of at the start of the activation, and cannot bring other enemy models in melee when moved this way.
Q2.3: When a model charges. does it have to move all the way up to the target of the charge or can it stop the charge 1” away from it?
A2.3 (C): The charging model can choose to stop its movement at 1” or less from the target. It is not mandatory to reach base-to-base contact.
Q2.4: When a model is climbing a vertical surface, do you only count the vertical movement towards its movement capability for that ACTION, or do you have to take into account any horizontal movement needed to avoid the model ending the climb in mid-air? For example, can a model with a 6” movement value climb a 6” high wall if it starts its movement in contact with it, or is its maximum climb height less than 6” because it needs to move horizontally to stand on the top surface?
A2.4(C): Horizontal movement to get to a stable surface must be counted towards the total distance moved by the model.
Q2.5: When a model voluntarily jumps down from a ledge, this “never costs movement”. Does this only include the vertical distance or also any horizontal movement the model has to make in order to cross the ledge?
A2.5(C): Only the vertical drop down doesn’t cost any movement.
Q2.6: Can models move or be pushed wherever they want or are there restrictions on the available directions of movement or on the final position?
A2.6(C): Movement direction is always across a surface (horizontal, vertical etc) and the model must end its movement in a position where its base can stand.
Q2.7: A model is pushed into Dangerous Terrain (e.g by the knockback effect of an Infernal Bomb). Does it have to roll for injury immediately (counting the push as “move” into the terrain) or when it is activated?
A2.7 (F): Immediately when it enters the terrain.
Q2.8: Can models move through narrow spaces like windows? If so, can they go through gaps of any size?
A2.8:(F) Since all tables and terrain pieces are unique, we strongly recommend agreeing with your opponent beforehand. In general we encourage allowing this, as it leads into more cinematic games.
Q2.9: When a model declares a charge against multiple enemies, is a single target not in Line of Sight sufficient to cause the Charge to become a RISKY ACTION?
A2.9(F): No.
Q2.10: Can a Downed model use a teleportation effect like Coveted Position during its own activation or does this count as moving?
A2.10(F): Yes. Move is a specific, different ACTION (unless otherwise specified in the rules).
Q2.11: When declaring a charge, how is the maximum distance of 12” measured? Is it 12” of movement or in a straight line?
A2.11(C): The maximum charge distance is measured in a straight line. Intervening terrain might interfere with the movement, thus potentially making the charge fail.
3. Ranged Attacks
Q3.1: When a model is equipped with weapons that allows it to make multiple Ranged Attack ACTIONS in the same activation, like a Submachine Gun, can it make any ACTIONS between the attacks?
A3.1: No, all the Ranged Attack ACTIONS from the same weapon must be resolved in an uninterrupted sequence unless otherwise specified.
Q3.2: Can Grenades or a Grenade Launcher target the ground? Do they scatter on a miss?
A3.2: No, Grenades and the Grenade Launcher must target a model. On a miss the attack has no effect.
Q3.3: A model makes a Ranged Attack that targets “a 1×1 mm point on the battlefield the model can see” (e.g. Artillery Witch, MURAD Bombard, Burning Inferno). An enemy model is on a higher ground or behind a low wall. Since the ground below the model is not visible from the attacker’s point of view, does it mean that the attacker cannot directly target them?
A3.3(C): If the attacking model can see a model, it can attack a point on the ground below it, even if it can’t directly see the ground.
Q3.4: Are the following scenarios correct interpretations of the rules for granting Cover? Note: for Scenario 5b, X is an interposing model
A3.4(F): Yes. The terrain providing cover must be positioned so that the model can “hide” behind it to get protection, i.e. must be interposed between the attacker and target. Note by the Troll: Image changed from the one in the official FAQ to give, I believe, a clearer example.
Q3.5: Is the attack bonus for elevation granted to models that are 2″ or more above the target or more than 2″ ?
A3.5 (C): The bonus for elevation is granted from a height of 2” or more above the target (including 2″), which becomes 4″ or more if the target is on a 50mm or larger base.
Q3.6: Can a model make a ranged attack after failing a charge?
A3.6(C): If the model is armed with an ASSAULT weapon, yes, otherwise no, as it made a Charge in the same activation.
NEW! Q3.7: Some attacks that target a point on the battlefield (e.g. Infernal Bomb, Burning Inferno) explicitly say they are not affected by Cover, while other (MURAD Bombard, Trench Mortar) do not have the same indication. Is the difference intentional? What about long range and elevation?
A3.7(C): Even if not explicitly stated, attacks that target a point on the battlefield do not suffer the penalty for Cover as this is only applicable when targeting a model. Long range and elevation modifiers instead apply when appropriate, unless the attack specifies otherwise (e.g. Infernal Bomb).
4. Melee Attacks
Q4.1: When a model goes Down while in Melee with an enemy, are they still considered in Melee?
A4.1: Yes, a model going Down does not change the Melee status, therefore models within 1” of a Downed model are still considered in Melee. This means, among others, they need to Retreat if they want to move away (granting the Downed model a free attack, albeit with -1 DICE for being Down) and any ranged attack against either model will have a random chance of hitting the other instead.
Q4.2: Does a model armed with two melee weapons have to take the two Melee Attack ACTIONS one after the other or can other ACTIONS be taken between the two Attacks? Does the same extend to a model that has the possibility to make more than one Melee Attack?
A4.2(C): Melee attacks with two (or more) different weapons are separate Melee Attack ACTIONS and other ACTIONS can be taken between an attack and the other.
Q4.3: Is the decision that a weapon is off-hand meant to last for the whole battle or can it be changed every time the model attacks?
A4.3(C): It is made the first time the model attacks in Melee, and lasts for the whole battle.
Q4.4: Does a model always have to attack with the Off-Hand weapon last or is it only applied on a STRONG model wielding a two-handed weapon in one hand?
A4.4(C): A model armed with two melee weapons can use them in any order unless specified.
Q4.5: Is the number of melee attacks a model can make during an activation limited by the number of “hands” available (i.e. a single melee attack with a two-handed weapon OR two melee attacks – main and off-hand – with two melee weapons) or the model can make one attack with each melee weapon it is equipped with, regardless of the number of hands needed?
A4.5: This phrase on page 118: “Unless they can be used in melee, ranged weapons do not use either hand in melee (leaving both hands free for melee weapons).” seems to imply the number of weapons that can be used to attack is limited by the available hands.
Q4.6: Are effects that trigger upon making an attack (e.g. Executioner’s Axe, Champion, Tartarus Claws) applied during the free melee attack granted by the Retreat Action?
A4.6(F): Rules As Written: Yes, unless the rules specify otherwise, since there is no condition to these effects and they do not take place during the model’s Activation. However, we intend to look at this for the Full Rules to ensure they do not break the game
5. Injuries and Blood Markers
Q5.1: Does the Melee/Ranged characteristic of the model also apply to the Injury Roll?
A5.1: No. It only affects the respective Melee or Ranged Attack ACTION roll.
Q5.2: Can I use BLOOD MARKERS from different models to trigger a Bloodbath?
A5.2: All BLOOD MARKERS must be on the target of the attack in order to trigger a Bloodbath on them.
Q5.3: Are any additional BLOOD MARKERS inflicted by FIRE/GAS/SHRAPNEL applied before or after the injury roll?
A5.3 (F): After the injury roll.
Q5.4: Is there a limit on the number of BLOOD MARKERS a model can have?
A5.4 (F): Yes, a model cannot have more than six BLOOD MARKERS at the same time. The same is valid for BLESSING MARKERS and INFECTION MARKERS (max. six of each type of MARKER).
Q5.5: When an injury roll is made against a model due to a friendly model’s attack (e.g. ranged attack shot in melee, BLAST weapons, Yoke Fiend or Castigator’s ability) or by any “neutral” effect (e.g. falling) who gets to decide how BLOOD MARKERS on the model can be spent to affect the injury roll?
A5.5: The opponent of the model suffering the Injury Roll.
Q5.6: If a model uses TOUGH to go Down instead of Out of Action, does it suffer a BLOOD MARKER (or two if it was already Down) as if the injury result was “Warrior Down”?
A5.6: Yes.
Q5.7: When a Downed model is subject to an effect that prevents it from standing up (like being in Melee with a Lion of Jabir), can it be made to stand up by an ability or effect like a Medi-kit or the Castigator’s Enforced Orthodoxy?
A5.7: No, the denial effect takes precedence.
Q5.8: There are three ways a Downed model can stand up:
- at the beginning of its own activation;
- when the model goes Down in its own activation and takes a RISKY ACTION to stand up;
- Thanks to the effect of items or abilities, like the Medi-Kit or the Castigator’s Enforced Orthodoxy ability.
Does the “half movement” penalty for the rest of the activation only applies to the first situation or to any or all of the other two?
A5.8(F): If the model stands up outside of its own Activation, the penalty does not apply.
Note by the Troll: this doesn’t completely answer the question, as it doesn’t specify what happens with effects that make the model stand up during its activation, but I’m reporting it for completeness as it is written in the official FAQ.
Q5.9: When a model gets taken down within 1” of a window of a ledge that has a rail, does it run the risk of falling?
A5.9(C): No, the model only has to roll to see if it falls if it is Downed near an unprotected ledge. Rails and low walls prevent falling.
6. Weapons, Armour and Equipment
Q6.1: Can a model attack twice in Melee with an Automatic Pistol?
A6.1(F): No. The Automatic Pistol can only attack twice when used to make a Ranged Attack ACTION. While attacking in Melee with an Automatic Pistol uses the Ranged characteristic of the model, it is still considered a Melee Attack.
Q6.2: Can a model armed with a Pistol or Automatic Pistol use it to make a Melee Attack and a Ranged Attack in the same activation?
A6.2: Yes, following the normal restrictions (i.e. the model can only make a Ranged Attack and Charge in the same activation when using an Assault weapon and only when shooting once). So for example the model can make a melee attack with a Pistol, make a Standard Move or Retreat (depending on whether it is still engaged in Melee after attacking), then make a ranged attack with the same pistol.
Q6.3: The rules for Standard Armour say it can be combined with a Shield, while that clause is not present in the rules for Reinforced Armour. Can Reinforced Armour be combined with a Shield?
A6.3: Yes. Any armour can be combined with a Shield unless explicitly stated it cannot (e.g Machine Armour).
Q6.4: If a TOUGH model is wearing Machine Armour and suffers an “Out of Action” result, does it go Down or does the armour effect convert the result to “Minor Hit”?
A6.4 (C): Machine Armour only treats a “Down” result (7 or 8) on the injury table as a “Minor Hit” so a TOUGH model with a Machine Armour that would be put Out of Action will go Down.
Q6.5: Can a Medi-kit be used while in melee?
A6.5: There’s no explicit restriction, so yes.
Q6.6: The rules for the Sniper Rifle say it can be equipped with a Sniper Scope, but this item is not in the armoury. How can I purchase it?
A6.6: The Sniper Scope is a Glory item that can be purchased in special locations found during a Campaign. Refer to the Campaign Rules document available for download on the Trench Crusade website.
Q6.7: If a deployed Field Shrine is destroyed during the battle in a campaign, is it lost or can it be used again in a following battle?
A6.7(C): It can be used again.
Q6.8: Can a model armed with an arquebus or equipped with a shovel use it as a two-handed version of a trench club when they have other melee weapons as well?
A6.8 (C): Yes.
Q6.9: How is a critical hit resolved on weapons that affect multiple models with a single attack roll, such as Masterworks Jezzail, Locust Spitter and weapons with the BLAST keyword?
A6.9: If a critical hit is scored (12+ on the to-hit roll), all models hit by the attack will suffer the +1 DICE modifier to their respective injury roll.
Q6.10: Does a Musical Instrument grant +1 DICE to Dash ACTIONS to the model carrying it?
A6.10: Yes.
Q6.11: Can I choose to shoot less than three times with a Machine Gun? Does my model’s activation end only when I shoot three times?
A6.11(C): When shooting with a Machine Gun you can make up to three Ranged Attack ACTIONS. After resolving the attacks the activation of the model is over regardless of the number of attacks performed.
Q6.12: The rules for shields/ musical instruments/troop flags seem to imply, according to how they are written, that the model can carry one such item together with two one-handed melee weapons and two one-handed ranged weapons but can only use one weapon at a time. Is this the correct interpretation or does an item that takes a hand all the time prevent the model for carrying more than a single one-handed melee weapon and a single one-handed ranged weapon?
A6.12(C): A shield/instrument/flag does not prevent a model to carry 2 ranged/melee weapons, as long as only one at a time is used. (Note that the passive effect of a Blasphemous Staff still works).
Q6.13: Can a model equipped with two items that take a hand all the time (shield/musical instrument/troop flag) be also equipped with and use grenades?
A6.13(C): Yes.
Q6.14: The wording of effects that ignore armour in the playtest rulebook is inconsistent. Some effects (i.e. Incendiary grenades) state they “ignore armour”, other (i.e. Anti-tank hammers) “ignore armour modifiers”. In other cases (I.e. The Day of His Wrath ability for the Cavalcade of the Tenth Plague) “armour offers no protection”. Are all these effects only referring to the armour modifiers to injury rolls or are there any differences?
A6.14(F): Yes, there are no differences. Just to avoid this kind of confusion, weapons that bypass armour will have a consistent IGNORE ARMOUR Keyword in the full rules.
7. Keywords
Q7.1: When are members of a FIRETEAM selected?
A7.1(C): Models are assigned to a FIRETEAM before each battle.
Q7.2: If a member of a FIRETEAM is activated through another model’s ability (i.e Voice of God or On My Command!), can the other model in the FIRETEAM be activated as well?
A7.2 (C): Yes. Both models can be activated following the normal FIRETEAM rules.
Q7.3: To what rolls does the -1 DICE penalty for the keyword FEAR apply to?
A7.4(C): FEAR applies a -1 DICE penalty to the Melee Attack rolls to hit the model with FEAR
Q7.4: If both players have INFILTRATORS and are allowed to use them, in which order are they deployed?
A7.4(C): After deploying all the non-INFILTRATOR models for both warband, conduct a second round of alternate deployment for INFILTRATOR models only, beginning from the player with more INFILTRATORS (roll off if tied).
Q7.5: Are all models in warband variants that replace the mandatory leader supposed to gain the keyword LEADER?
- Fida’i of Alamut: Master Assassin
- House of Wisdom: Jabirean Alchemist (one of the two)
- Papal States Intervention Forces: Trench Cleric
- Dirge of the Great Hegemon: Executor
A7.5(F): Yes (this will be featured in the next revision of the rules.) – Note that for the Papal States Intervention Force, the Trench Cleric gains the keyword LEADER instead of the Lieutenant.
Q7.6: What happens during a campaign if the LEADER model dies? Do I need to buy another copy of that model who gains the keyword LEADER or can I give the keyword to another eligible model in the warband?
A7.6(F): If the LEADER dies, you lose access to the keyword until a new copy of that model is recruited.
8. Heretic Legion
Q8.1: The Death Commando can be equipped with a Tormentor Chain, but that weapon is not in the Heretic Legion Armoury.
A8.1: The campaign rules (available for download on the Trench Crusade website) allow Heretic Legion warbands to purchase Tormentor Chains as a Glory item. As it is not in the Heretic Legion armoury, a Tormentor Chain can only be purchased in a campaign when the right opportunity appears during exploration.
Q8.2: Tartarus Claws appear twice in the rulebook, with different rules. Which are the correct versions?
A8.2: The rules on page 18 of the rulebook are the correct ones: Tartarus Claws allow the Death Commando to move up to 6” after taking an opponent down or Out of action.
Q8.3 [Knights of Avarice]: Does the effect of the Standard of Mammon’s trigger when the wielder moves into melee with an enemy, or only when an enemy moves into melee with them?
A8.3(C) : It triggers in both situations.
Q8.4 [Trench Ghosts]: Do Sarcophagus Mines still count as Heretic Troopers for determining how many Legionnaires the warband can have?
A8.4(C): No. They are a different unit.
Q8.5: Does Puppet Master require the Heretic Priest to have line of sight to the target?
A8.5(C) : Though not explicitly written in the playtest rules. Puppet Master is supposed to require the target to be in Line of Sight.
Q8.6: Can a hiding Death Commando be attacked by a ground-targeted attack such as Burning Inferno or a MURAD Bombard?
A8.6 : Attacks that select a point on the ground don’t target a model, so you can use them to target a spot where a hiding Death Commando is.
9. Trench Pilgrims
Q9.1: Does a Trench Pilgrim resurrected as a Martyr Penitent keep any special abilities they had before dying, such as Zealous Strength or Wrath of God?
A9.1(C): Yes.
Q9.2: If a Martyr Penitent dies, can it be Resurrected again?
A9.2(C): No, only Trench Pilgrims can be resurrected as Martyr Penitents. Once they do, they can’t be resurrected again.
Q9.3: For calculating the warband total value, do I consider a Martyr Penitent worth 45 ducats or 75 (30 for the original pilgrim + 45 for the resurrection) ?
A9.3: A Martyr Penitent is worth 45 ducats.
Q9.4: At which moment can I resurrect a Trench Pilgrim into a Martyr Penitent?
A9.4(F): Immediately after the Trench Pilgrim dies (in the “injury” step of the Post-battle sequence, so before any exploration and chance for reinforcements). You need to have the ducats to pay for the resurrection available at that moment.
Q9.5: Does a model that is Broken on the Wheel benefit from the Anchorite Shrine’s -3 armour modifier?
A9.5: No. The Shrine’s -3 armour modifier is only applied after the model on the wheel is taken Out of Action. Until then, apply the model’s modifiers to injury rolls.
Q9.6: When a model that is Broken on the Wheel goes Out of Action, do any Blood Markers it suffered stay on the Anchorite Shrine or are they removed?
A9.6(C): They are removed.
Q9.7: When a model is Broken on the Wheel, do I need to roll after the battle to see if it dies like any model that goes out of action?
A9.7: No, the model is automatically considered dead and is removed from the warband (unless it is saved somehow, for example by being Resurrected as a Martyr Penitent).
Q9.8: If an Anchorite Shrine has a model Broken on the Wheel that is still in play, can the opponent spend BLOOD MARKERS on the broken model to apply -DICE to the Shrine’s ACTIONS?
A9.8(F): Yes. As stated in the rules “For all rules purposes and attack effects (such as forced movement), the two models are treated as a single model, including sharing BLOOD, INFECTION and BLESSING MARKERS”.
10. The Iron Sultanate
Q10.1: If a Jabirean Alchemist is armed with a weapon that already possesses the keyword FIRE, GAS or SHRAPNEL, does the keyword granted by its Master of the Elements ability replace the one on that weapon, or is it in addition to the existing one?
A10.1(C): The keyword granted by Master of the Elements is in addition to those already possessed by the weapon.
Q10.2: Can an Assassin use its Time Slip ability when Down?
A10.2(C): Yes, a model who is Down is only prevented from moving “during its Activation through its own ACTIONS”. As Time Slip occurs during another model’s activation and it is not an ACTION, it can be used even when the Assassin is Down.
Q10.3: Is the Time Slip ability of an Assassin a regular move or a teleportation effect?
A10.3(C): It’s a regular move.
Q10.4 [Fida’i of Alamut]: The rules for Fida’i of Alamut prohibit Dervishes from wearing Reinforced Armour. If a Dervish is promoted to ELITE during a campaign, is this restriction still in place?
A10.4(C): No, a promoted Dervish is allowed to wear Reinforced Armour as it is now ELITE.
Q10.5 [House of Wisdom]: How many weapons can a House of Wisdom warband take from other lists due to its “Weapon Collections” rule?
A10.5 (C): Up to one from New Antioch, up to one from Trench Pilgrim armoury. In either case, only a single weapon can be taken from each armoury, so for example a House of Wisdom warband can have a single Anti-Tank Hammer and a single Heavy Shotgun.
NEW! Q10.6: Is an assassin using Temporal Assassin considered to be charging both targets?
A10.6 (C): Yes. The Assassin is making two charge moves at the same time (therefore Polearms would affect its melee attacks and it can score the Suicidal Bravery glorious deed).
NEW! Q10.7: Is a model armed with a Golden Khanjar allowed to make 2 free melee attacks against a retreating enemy?
A10.7: As per official FAQ (see also Q4.6) yes, as both attacks are part of a single Melee Attack ACTION.
11. The Principality of New Antioch
Q11.1: Some warbands (like Fida’i of Alamut) or mercenaries (i.e. the Mamluk Faris) allow the formation of FIRETEAM. Do models in these FIRETEAMS gain the Concentrated Attack ability?
A11.1: No, Concentrated Attack is specific to New Antioch FIRETEAMS and neither models from other factions nor mercenaries can use it.
Q11.2: Is a Trench Cleric’s special ability chosen when the model is first created or does the model have access to all abilities and chooses one before each battle?
A11.2 (C): The ability is chosen at recruitment.
Q11.3: Does a Mechanized Heavy Infantry model with a Heavy Ballistic Shield provide cover to models behind it?
A11.3: No, as models do not provide Cover.
Q11.4: Can a Mechanized Heavy Infantry in Light Machine Armour use a Heavy Ballistic Shield?
A11.4: No, only a model in Machine Armour can use the Heavy Ballistic Shield. Light Machine Armour counts as Reinforced Armour for rules purposes.
Q11.5: Can Combat Engineers use a Trench Shield?
A11.5 (C): As per current (1.6.3) rules, no, as Combat Engineers do not have access to additional armour options beyond Engineer Armour.
12. The Cult of the Black Grail
Q12.1: Can I use a mix of BLOOD MARKERS and INFECTION MARKERS to trigger a Bloodbath on a model?
A:12.1 Yes. Unless specified, INFECTION MARKERS can be used exactly as BLOOD MARKERS.
Q12.2: Can a Medi-Kit be used to heal INFECTION MARKERS?
A12.2(C): No. Only effects that explicitly remove INFECTION MARKERS can do it.
Q12.3: Does a Grail/Fly Thrall count itself for the effect of its “Overwhelming Horde” ability?
A12.3(C): No. It will be clarified in a future issue of the rules.
Q12.4: Do the melee and ranged weapons limit for the Amalgam also apply for bayonets? For example if I gave the Amalgam 2 Bolt-Action Rifles with 2 bayonets, could I also give it 2 swords?
A12.4(C): Bayonets can indeed be used.
Q12.5: Is the INFECTION MARKER inflicted by a Hound of the Black Grail through the Disease Carrier ability applied before or after checking whether a model with any INFECTION MARKERS when activated gains an additional one? I.e. will a model with no INFECTION MARKERS, who starts its activation in melee combat with a Hound of the Black Grail, gain 1 or 2 INFECTION MARKERS?.
A12.5(C): Disease Carrier triggers first, so the model will have 2 INFECTION MARKERS after it is activated.
Q12.6: When a model armed with a Viscera Cannon chooses to increase the damage by adding up to 3 BLOOD MARKERS per hit by taking the same amount of BLOOD MARKERS, can they do this while at the limit of 6 BLOOD MARKERS? In other words, can they opt to take additional BLOOD MARKERS even though those markers will “overflow” and be lost?
A12.6(C): No, the model can’t increase the damage caused by the Viscera Cannon any more if that would cause it to have more than 6 BLOOD MARKERS.
Q12.7: Do INFECTION MARKERS count as BLOOD MARKERS for scoring Glorious Deeds (e.g Bloodletting)?
A12.7(C): Yes.
Q12.8: Can you have multiple Plague Knights with the same Plague Knight Rank ability in your warband?
A12.8(C): No, you cannot have duplicate Plague Knight Ranks in your warband.
Q12.9: Do secondary targets for a Locust Spitter need to be in line of sight to be hit?
A12.9(C): Each successive target for an attack by the Locust Spitter must be within Line of Sight from the previous target.
13. The Court of the Seven-Headed Serpent
Q13.1: Are there any range or line of sight restrictions for the Blood Markers spent for a Goetic Power? Can they be taken from multiple models?
A13.1: Blood Markers used to activate a Goetic Power can be taken from any model (without the keywords DEMONIC or BLACK GRAIL) currently taking part of the battle, with no range/line of sight restriction. If the Power requires 2 or more Blood Markers, those can be taken by multiple models.
Q13.2: Some Goetic Powers have a “Praetor or Sorcerer only” restriction. Does it mean I can only choose that power once or can both the Praetor and Sorcerer in my warband have it?
A13.2(C): Unless the power has a LIMIT of 1, it can be taken by both the Praetor and the Sorcerer.
Q13.3: When a Hell Knight armed with a Heavy Flamethrower uses its Blood Magic power, does this affect both hits at the same time or only one?
A13.3 (C): Each attack is considered a separate roll, so only one is affected by Blood Magic.
Q13.4: Is a Wretched equipped with a Shovel considered to fulfill the mandatory “must be equipped with at least one weapon” requirement?
A13.4: No. The Shovel is an Equipment item.
Q13.5 [Sloth]: Does the Sloth Goetic Power Daemonium Meridianum affect flying models?
A 13.5(C) : All the normal rules for Difficult Terrain apply, so flying models are not affected.
14. Allies and Mercenaries
Q14.1: Can a Goetic Warlock using its Goetic Portal ability move together with an enemy model engaged in Melee so that this enemy ends the teleport within 1” (therefore in Melee) of a model friendly to the Warlock?
A14.1 (C): Yes.
15. Scenarios
Q15.1: For Scenario 1: Claim No Man’s Land, the rules state that “INFILTRATORS cannot be used in this Scenario”. As there is a different wording in Scenario 7: Armoured Train, which states “INFILTRATORS can be used in this scenario but must be deployed as normal troops”, this might lead to think that in the former case models with INFILTRATOR cannot be used at all. This should probably be changed to the latter wording for clarity.
A15.1: The rules for the keyword INFILTRATOR clarify that when a scenario states that INFILTRATORs cannot be used, they are deployed as normal troops.
Q15.2: Many scenarios state, in the Glorious Deeds section “Players score one Glory Point for every model that completes any of the following Glorious Deeds. Victory Points for these can only be gained once – whichever player completes them first gets the Glory!”. Does completing Glorious Deeds grant also Victory Points to the warband?
A15.2: “Victory Points” here is likely a typo and it is supposed to be “Glory Points”.
Q15.3: In a Random scenario, does the Glorious Deed “Bloodletting” (Inflict a sixth BLOOD MARKER on any enemy with an attack from one of your models.) count spent BLOOD MARKERS or does it require a model to accumulate six BLOOD MARKERS at once?
A15.3: Spent BLOOD MARKERS do count towards Bloodletting.
16. Campaign Rules – General
Q16.1: Can upgrades to models (like Trench Mole for Yeomen, SKIRMISHER for Azebs, Legionnaire bonus etc.) be purchased between battles in a campaign or they are chosen at model’s creation?
A16.1(C): They are meant to be purchasable only at model’s recruitment.
Q16.2: How is the “current campaign threshold” determined if someone joins the campaign late?
A16.2(C): By the highest threshold of any player currently in the campaign.
NEW! Q16.3: When the conditions for a Glorious deed are fulfilled by multiple models at the same time, or by the warband in general, who gets the bonus Experience Point?
A16.3 (C): A model can only gain Experience Points for achieving a Glorious Deed that can be fulfilled individually. Glorious deeds that are fulfilled as a group (e.g. “Pass a morale test” or “Control three objectives at the same time”) do not grant Experience.
17. Campaign Rules – Traumas & Scars
Q17.1: Does a model that loses the ELITE keyword due to a Head Wound lose access to any ELITE only skills/upgrades/equipment they had? What about traumas and battle scars?
A17.1(F): A model with a Head Wound trauma is not considered an ELITE for the purpose of gaining experience only. This will be featured in a future update. (see 1.6.4 Campaign Rules Changelog)
Q17.2: If I have two or more models with the Insomniac trauma, can I choose the order in which they are deployed?
A17.2(C): Yes
18. Campaign Rules – Skills
Q18.1: Is a model with the Point Blank skill allowed to make a regular Ranged Attack ACTION in the same activation in which it uses Point Blank to make a Ranged Attack ACTION instead of a Melee Attack?
A18.1(C): The attack made using Point Blank replaces any Melee Attack the model is allowed to make during its activation. It can still make a regular Ranged Attack ACTIONS following the normal rules.
Q18.2: Does the bonus +1 DICE in Skills and Expertise apply to all ACTIONS (aside those noted) or do you choose a single ACTION to get +1 DICE for?
A 18.2(C) When you gain the skill, you choose a single action available to the model to get +1 DICE.
Q18.3: Does ‘Tis but a Scratch allow the model with that skill to re-roll injuries suffered during a battle?
A18.3(C): Confirmed typo. ‘Tis but a Scratch is intended to affect rolls on the Elite Trauma Chart. (see 1.6.4 Campaign Rules Changelog)
Q18.4: Does the “Skill and Expertise” skill affect rolls like the one for preventing falling or Lash of Acheron.
A18.4(C): Yes
Q18.5: Can a model with the Point Blank skill perform multiple attacks in melee with a weapon that allows for multiple ranged attacks (e.g. Submachine Gun, Automatic Rifle)?
A18.5(C): Yes
19. Campaign Rules – Exploration & Items
Q11.1: Does the 100 ducats total cost of the Golem obtained through the Book of Golem location include the 40 ducats for the base model and/or the cost of equipment?
A19.1 (C): The 40 ducats base cost is included, that leaves up to 60 ducats to spend on alchemical formulas. Equipment can be bought separately and it doesn’t count towards the 100 ducats limit.
Q19.2: Can you pay additional ducats to give the Golem extra alchemical formulas (in addition to its 100 ducats value) when it is created and/or after a battle?
A19.2: No. (see 1.6.4 Campaign Rules Changelog)
Q19.3: Do the Executioner’s Axe and the Champion skill stack, for 2 bonus attacks?
A19.3 (C): No, they don’t.
Q19.4: Does the Sample of Holy DNA’s effect to turn an INFECTION MARKER into a BLESSING MARKER when the model is activated happen before or after the INFECTION MARKER on the model generates an additional INFECTION MARKER?
A19.4 (C): Sample of Holy DNA resolves first.
Q19.5: Is the correct interpretation that Koraktor, The Great Tome of Hell can only be carried by a Sorcerer, but it can grant the use of a Goetic Power to any one model in the warband? If so, can the model be any model, even one that cannot normally have Goetic Powers?
A19.5(C): No. Only the Sorcerer carrying the Tome can gain an additional Goetic Power.
Q19.6: If the Golem obtained through the Book of Golem location is upgraded with the Massive Size formula, how do the TOUGH and GOLEM keywords interact?
A19.6(C): The possibility for a model to have both the TOUGH and GOLEM keywords at the same time is unintended. This will be fixed in an upcoming version of the rules.
NEW! The rules for the Scripture Guardian that were recently re-uploaded on the Trench Crusade website have an added line to the GOLEM keyword rules that reads “Note that a model cannot have both GOLEM and TOUGH Keywords.” It’s likely an intended update of the GOLEM keyword rule across the board, confirming the intent of GOLEM and TOUGH not applying to a model at the same time.
Note by the Troll: The ruling only concerns the fact that a model cannot benefit from both TOUGH and GOLEM at the same time. Nothing has been ruled on the possibility for the Golem to actually purchase Massive Size, that is up to players, but still it would only increase the base size of the model to 50mm and prevent it from having Wings.
Q19.7: When I find an exploration location that allows me to purchase one or more Glory Items, do I have to spend Glory Points from my paychest or do I gain the item for free?
A19.7(C): You may purchase the allowed items by paying their Glory Point cost from your Paychest.
Q19.8: I found an exploration location that allows me to purchase a Glory Item, but I don’t have enough glory to spend right now (or I don’t want to). Is the location wasted?
A19.8(C): You can “bank” any Exploration result that grants you a glory item purchase and then use its effect (once) after a future match.
Note by the Troll: eligible locations are:
- Common Locations: Heavy Weapon Cache (5), Ruined House (8), Warband Strongbox (20)
- Rare Locations: Ruined Church/Masjid/Synagogue (19), High Ranking Captive (25)
- Legendary Locations: Treasure of the Holies (16)
20. Miscellanea
Q20.1: Are there rules for Paladins?
A20.1: Paladins are uber-characters capable of conducting solo missions into hell itself and come back alive. Their power level is way above anything in Trench Crusade so sadly no, no Paladins in the game.
Q20.2: What is the situation in [insert part of the world]?
A20.2: Currently Trench Crusade is mainly centered on the war theater of Levant, so the main focus is about Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. The upheaval caused by the opening of the Gates of Hell and anything that came to pass afterwards made it so that the world is very different from ours. In particular, the near-full dedication of the European nations to the war effort has deprived them from the necessary resources to colonize the New World. There’s commerce between Europeans (mainly Spaniards) and the Native American populations, so potatoes, tobacco and chocolate are known and rather widespread products, but for the time being that’s what we know. We’ll need to have a bit of patience and see what the developers are cooking.
21. Suspected Typos
The following is a list of suspected typos and potential errata that have been pointed out to the development team and will likely be addressed in the upcoming updates of the rules.
- T21.1: The rules for Minor Hits on page 9 of the rulebook state “When rolling on the Injury Chart against this model, the opponent can spend one or more of the BLOOD MARKERS to add +1 DICE to the roll for each pip. This makes a severe injury more likely. When you attack a wounded model, you can spend one or more of the markers to add +1 DICE to the attack roll for each marker.” The underlined sentence does not match with the rest of the rules for BLOOD MARKERS and looks like a leftover from a previous iteration of the rules.
- T21.2: Trench Pilgrims don’t have a limit on Flamethrowers, whereas all other factions have LIMIT: 3.
- T21.3: Polearms are listed at 10 ducats in the Trench Pilgrims’ Armoury instead of the normal 7.
- T21.4: The Heavy Shotgun in the New Antioch Armoury lacks the Bayonet Lug tag all other shotguns have (unclear if this is intentional however).
- T21.5: The limitations on armour for Eire Rangers still refer to “Heavy Armour” instead of “Reinforced Armour”.
- T21.6: In the “Nobile Hierarchy” rule for the Black Grail, the line from the rulebook v1.6.2 that prevents a warband led by a Plague Knight from having a Lord of Tumours is missing.
- T21.7: The Fire Shield and Holy Icon Shield are not listed as “counting as a Trench Shield”, which might lead to think they are not affected by the Shield Combo rule.
- T21.8: The text of Machine Armour still reports the armour as unable to be combined with any shield, even though now Heavy Ballistic Shield exists and it can only be used by models in Machine Armour
- T21.9: The Mamluk Faris Sworn Sword ability reads “If a Mamluk joins a New Antioch FIRETEAM, the model benefits from the Co-ordinated Fireteam special rules”. “Co-ordinated Fireteam” is supposed to be “Concentrated Attack”
- T21.10: The Ducal Winged Armour refers to the Promotion Glory Item, which has been renamed Battlefield Title.
